
Defending No Trump Contracts – What Does Third Seat Know
Third seat (or third hand) is the partner of the opening leader.

Review of Leads
Good leads are:

• A suit bid by partner, especially if it was an overcall
• A suit not shown by the opponents
• A suit headed by an honour sequence (perfect, near perfect or internal)
• Fourth highest of a suit headed by an honour

What can Third Seat Learn from Partner's Lead?
If partner leads... We know that...
A low card Partner has at least one honour in the suit. If partner has more 

than one honour, the honours will not form an honour sequence. 
Partner may have as few as three cards in the suit but usually has 
four or more.

If partner has four or more cards in the suit, the card played will 
be the fourth highest.

An honour Partner will not have the next higher honour.

If you can see a lot of cards in the suit (in dummy and your own 
hand), the lead may well be from a doubleton; it may also be the 
middle card of a suit headed by non-adjacent honours.

More likely, partner has led from an honour sequence and will 
have the next lower card in the suit. If the lead was from an 
internal honour sequence, partner has a higher non-adjacent 
honour.

A highish card - not an 
honour

Partner does not have an honour in the suit.

If it is a suit you have bid Very likely, partner has three or less cards in your suit.
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Interpreting Partner’s Lead (1)
Declarer West North East South

1 Pass 1
1 1NT Pass 2NT
3NT Pass Pass Pass

Q was led and dummy went 
down. What does third seat know?
1. Partner has led from a short 

suit, respecting your overcall.
2. The queen is not part of a 

sequence and must be either a 
singleton or a doubleton.

3. North has the ace of spades 
(partner didn’t lead it) and at 
least two more spades.

Third Seat

 
 
 
 Leader

 K J 8 7 3
 A 8
 Q 5 4
 8 4 3 Dummy

 Q 
 
 
 

 T 9 2
 K J 5 2
 K 8
 A 7 6 2

4. North-South should have 25 hcp to bid 3NT and third seat has ten hcp. So partner 
started with no more than five including the queen of spades. Partner cannot have the 
ace of diamonds and declarer must have it.

5. North has at least four diamonds (opened 1)
6. North likely has at one to three hearts (bid 1NT and did not support partner).
7. Partner has at least four hearts.

This is what we know:

North We expect to beat the contract 
even if declarer has four spades. 
We will eventually get the lead 
with the ace of hearts and continue
with spades. After three rounds of 
spades, dummy’s nine and ten will 
be gone leaving our seven and 
eight as winners.

Most likely, declarer will duck the 
first spade and hopefully, partner 
will continue the suit. Declarer will 
win and run the diamonds. We 
hang on to all our spades and the 
ace of hearts.

West

 A x x ...
 x ...
 A x x x ...
 ? East

 K J 8 7 3
 A 8
 Q 5 4
 8 4 3 South

 Q (x)
 x x x x ...
 
 

 T 9 2
 K J 5 2
 K 8
 A 7 6 2

Eventually, West will win the ace of hearts and cash the winning spades.

What Does Third Seat Know versus NT Contracts - 2 - Chris Bayliss for SHBC



Interpreting Partner’s Lead (2)
Declarer West North East South

1 2 Double
Pass 2NT Pass 3NT
Pass Pass Pass

J was led and dummy went 
down. What does third seat know?
1. Partner has led from a long suit.
2. Partner has the ten of clubs but 

not the queen.
3. Partner must have ace or king 

of clubs for the two level 
overcall. The lead was from an 
internal sequence.

Third Seat

 
 
 
 Leader

 T 6 4
 A 7 5 3
 9 7 6
 7 6 2 Dummy

 
 
 
 J

 A 2
 K Q 6 4
 A T 8 5 3
 8 4

4. Partner does not have both ace and king of clubs (did not lead the ace)
5. Declarer has at most three hearts (did not support partner) 

This is what we know after declarer wins the first trick with the king of clubs.

North We hope to get the lead with the 
ace of hearts. Then we can finesse 
declarer’s remaining club honour. 
That allows partner to make four 
tricks. 

Declarer will probably start off by 
running the spade suit. We should 
take the opportunity to make an 
encouraging heart signal for 
partner.

West

 x x x x x
 x ...
 ?
 K Q x East

 T 6 4
 A 7 5 3
 9 7 6
 7 6 2 South

 ?
 x x ...
 ?
 A J T x x

 A 2
 K Q 6 4
 A T 8 5 3
 8 4
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The Rule of Eleven
If your partner leads a card that you think is the fourth highest, subtract the number on the 
card from eleven. This is the number of cards higher than the lead card not counting the 
cards held by partner.

Here’s how it works:

Dummy The 5 is led. Dummy goes down.  
Eleven minus five equals six. There 
are six cards not in partner’s hand 
that can beat the 5.

West  J 9 6 East
 5 South  Q T 8

 ?

You can see all six of them! Three are in dummy and three are in your own hand. Hence, 
declarer does not have a card to beat the five. If the six is played from dummy, play the 
eight. If the nine is played, play the ten. If the jack is played, play the queen. In every case, 
you will win the trick.
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Interpreting Partner’s Lead (3)
Declarer West North East South

1 2 3
Pass 3NT All Pass

6 was led and dummy went 
down. What does third seat know?
1. Partner has led from a long suit 

headed by an honour.
2. For the overcall, partner should 

have a five card suit with three 
honours or a six card suit with 
two honours

3. By the rule of eleven, there are 
five cards higher than the six 
not in partner’s hand.

Third Seat

 
 
 
 Leader

 7 5 3 2
 9 8 6
 Q 7
 K 9 6 3 Dummy

 
 
 6
 

 A 8 4
 J 3
 9 2
 A Q J T 4 2

4. Since partner has at least two honours, declarer cannot have more than two.
5. Partner has at least nine high card points for the overcall.
6. By bidding no trumps instead of repeating hearts, it looks like declarer has no more 

than five hearts.
7. Declarer will not have five spades (opened 1) so partner has at least two spades.

This is what we know after third seat plays the queen and declarer the ace to the first 
trick. 

North
Since declarer did not hold up the 
ace at trick one, declarer is likely to
have the jack as a second honour . 
So, partner started with six 
diamonds and declarer three.

The next diamond lead for the 
defence needs to be by west. Most 
likely that opportunity will arise 
when declarer takes the losing club
finesse.

West

 x ...
 x x x x x
 A J x
 x ... East

 7 5 3 2
 9 8 6
 Q 7
 K 9 6 3 South

 x x ...
 x x x
 K T x 6 x x
 ?

 A 8 4
 J 3
 9 2
 A Q J T 4 2

If East gets the lead before declarer tackles clubs, East should resist the temptation to 
continue diamonds. Another diamond lead by East will give declarer an undeserved trick. 
Instead, East should try and get partner on lead.
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